Taylor Ho Bynum + Friends

The Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet includes Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet, Jim Hobbs - alto sax, Bill Lowe - bass trombone/tuba, Tomeka Reid - cello, Ken Filiano - bass, Tomas Fujiwara - drums. Bynum’s primary working ensemble since 2005, The Sextet has toured throughout the U.S. and Europe, and released four critically acclaimed albums (including 3 on New Haven’s own Firehouse 12 Records). The band also acts as the core of Bynum’s the 15-piece ensemble on his most recent recording, “Enter the PlusTet”.

After a short stand-alone set, the Sextet will be joined by New Haven music students who’ve been working with Bynum on principles of improvisation and creative music, creating a cross-generational creative orchestra.

Apply to be a part of the New Haven Residency >

Taylor Ho Bynum

Sponsored by